IT Job opportunities

garyB

Aug 20, 2006
Does anybody here work in the IT sector in DR? I am looking to relocate to DR but unfortuntaly do not have enough money sitting in the bank to just like on the beach till i die.

I am a computer professional having worked in the industry for almost 20 years.
I began as a hardware engineer working with all hardware from IBM 8086 clones right up to current Multiprocessor Servers.

I then moved my attentions over to software development and have mainly worked for the last 10 in software development (SQL,VB,C++ etc).

If you work in this area i would be grateful to hear what sort of opportunities exist in the DR.

HOWMAR

Silver
Jan 28, 2004
There are plenty of jobs, with more than enough Dominicans to fill them. IT jobs filled by Dominicans with Masters level education start around 20,000 pesos/month.

garyB

Aug 20, 2006
There are plenty of jobs, with more than enough Dominicans to fill them. IT jobs filled by Dominicans with Masters level education start around 20,000 pesos/month.

Thanks for the reply, so i guess im gonna have to find a new career.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
If your coming to the DR, yes.

It's all about networking here and knowing Spanish will help.

Good luck!

garyB

Aug 20, 2006
My Spanish is quite good and will hopefully improve further before i would arrive.
However the job front sounds scarier than i thought. I obviously did not expect to arrive on the island and be handed the MD's job at Microsoft DR but thought that i could find something relatively easily.
Again Thanks for your replies.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
My Spanish is quite good and will hopefully improve further before i would arrive.
However the job front sounds scarier than i thought. I obviously did not expect to arrive on the island and be handed the MD's job at Microsoft DR but thought that i could find something relatively easily.
Again Thanks for your replies.

This is a trap many fall into.