Ladrones in the house

zoomzx11

Gold
Jan 21, 2006
I am fairly new to the DR. I do not live in a residencial. I have two dogs. The other night a thief removed 5 jealousie glasses from the kitchen window and was close to being in the house when the dogs began barking. After the terrible murder in Sosua I am a bit nervous. Does anyone here have a plan/ What do you do when you hear noises in the house at night? I have a wife and kids and am interested in having a planned response to armed or unarmed thieves in the house. My wife (Dominican) is in the process of acquiring a pistol permit so that will be a small help. Anyone have plans for their security? Thanks

GringoCArlos

Retired Ussername
Jan 9, 2002
Before you go to the expense of an alarm system, a gun, etc, Why doesn't your house have steel bars over the windows? What do you expect with jalousy windows, flowers?

Get a welder to put steel bars over all windows, and your entry doors, on all floors, FIRST. That will deter most would-be thieves. The dogs will take care of 95% of the rest. Alarms and a gun may work against the most determined thieves, but with jalousy windows, and no bars, my limpia bota kid would probably pop in during daylight to see if he could grab something easy.

Outside spotlights with motion detectors, mounted up high, would be a good second step. Not much expense, and a good deterrent too.

Last edited:

canadian bob

Bronze
Jan 16, 2002