Any Dominicans in Toronto?

Trupti

Sep 23, 2006
With a name like Trupti, I'm clearly not Dominican but...my boyfriend is and we're trying to figure out, live here, or there (Puerto Plata). I'm a teacher and would make peanuts in the DR, but I make decent money here.

So what I would like to ask is, if you immigrated from the DR, were you able to find work in your field of study/expertise? What were the main problems or obstacles in settling in Canada? Anything you can share with your experience would be helpful.

Thank you in advance :)

nikke

Sep 19, 2005
There's lots here!

There are a lot of Dominicans here in Toronto, but a LOT more in Montreal. I don't know if there are any on this board, but I'd be interested to find out!

Last edited:

chago

Feb 22, 2007
im dominican in toronto

hey im dominican im living in toronto in marcan my nane is jorge contact to me im exatin to meet dominican here i have tow week here

chola1978

Bronze
Mar 20, 2006
relocating

With a name like Trupti, I'm clearly not Dominican but...my boyfriend is and we're trying to figure out, live here, or there (Puerto Plata). I'm a teacher and would make peanuts in the DR, but I make decent money here.

So what I would like to ask is, if you immigrated from the DR, were you able to find work in your field of study/expertise? What were the main problems or obstacles in settling in Canada? Anything you can share with your experience would be helpful.

Thank you in advance :)
Hi. My family and I where at your position 2 years ago before we decided to move from surprise,AZ to Santiago, REp.Dom,
For us it was not a matter of gettign a job here it was more about the wellfare fo our baby
We own property in both places so rent was not an issue.
we had a car in US and one in DR so that was taken care of
wether: not a big factor since heat is the main thing in AZ
culture well iam dominican and my wife hondurena
income. well here it get tricky.