Canbird

canbird

Sep 18, 2006
Hello, I am from British Columbia Canada. I am travelling to Cabarete in 4 days. This is my first trip to DR.

I am travelling with 2 friends. We have in the past year visited Mexico DF and spent a week in Havana. We booked at the Villa Taina in Cabarete.

We are cigar smokers and wonder if we can get real Cuban cigars in the DR? Anyone had any experience with this? We will of course sample some DR cigars but are considering picking up a box of Cohibas in Vancouver just in case?

Should we take USD$ to Cabarete? Will Canadian money be difficult to deal with?

How much English should we expect? I am a novice with Spanish but my friends are illiterate :)

Anything to watch out for? Ive heard pickpockets are common etc.

Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated.

nikke

Sep 19, 2005
Enjoy your trip!

Bring some cigars if you must, but why bother bringing your Cohibas and other Cuban cigars when you can enjoy fine Dominican cigars right there? You can find a lot of excellent quality cigars and a lot more variety in the DR...it's part of the adventure! See Cigars - Dominican Republic - Official Site - Cigar Factory Tours, Cigar-Making Tours.

I found that there were a lot of English speakers in Cabarete, but it never hurts to learn a few words in Spanish...

I found no real difference carrying Canadian and US dollars. Both were widely accepted and easy to exchange to pesos. I found it easier overall to negotiate for certain things in pesos and Canadian Dollars because I found that if I could buy something for $10 US I probably could've gotten it for 10 CDN if I had it handy...a minor difference, and not worth going out of my way to buy mass amounts of $US. If you have the $US available, use it, but if you are just going to use it to buy pesos you have to consider the cost of exchanging twice.

I used pesos for mostly everything - transportation, food, drinks, restaurants, excursions, gifts, etc. Bring Canadian but keep some $US handy.