Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 62
  1. #1
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Internet speed solution

    Several of us have been experimenting with some new DNS numbers, and so far, all the results have been favorable and have cured the problem.
    The old "196" series of DNS numbers are the guilty ones.
    Replace them with
    200.88.127.22
    200.88.127.23
    If you leave them in "automatic, they will seek out the "196" numbers, so you have to manually insert the new numbers.
    Anyone who does not know how to do it can ask here or contact me.

  2. #2
    Regular
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    How do i access internet in La Romana? Are there any internet cafés around with easy access and are quite cheap?

  3. #3
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by banksk View Post
    How do i access internet in La Romana? Are there any internet cafés around with easy access and are quite cheap?
    There are internet cafes throughout the country.
    Nothing to worry about.

  4. #4
    Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    In La Romana cople of years ago there was an internet cafe near to Trigo de Oro, almost in front of the central park, I don´t know if exist the ciber cafe but for sure if you check arround must be others.

  5. #5
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Bringing this back to the top, to remind all DR Verizon users, to change thier DNS numbers.

  6. #6
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,171
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default internet speed solution

    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
    Several of us have been experimenting with some new DNS numbers, and so far, all the results have been favorable and have cured the problem.
    The old "196" series of DNS numbers are the guilty ones.
    Replace them with


    200.88.127.22
    200.88.127.23
    If you leave them in "automatic, they will seek out the "196" numbers, so you have to manually insert the new numbers.
    Anyone who does not know how to do it can ask here or contact me.
    ok I live in SD...how do I change my DNS numbers>>>>?????
    bob

  7. #7
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jaguarbob View Post
    ok I live in SD...how do I change my DNS numbers>>>>?????
    bob
    Sending you a PM.

  8. #8
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JDJones View Post
    Changed mine, so far I don't see any difference. (But that's because Verizon hates me)
    It's amazing. Up until a few months ago, I NEVER had a problem with them.
    Now, they're falling on me like cats & dogs. I won't bore anyone with the details. It would take the rest of the day to type..
    Hey JD,
    Does that mean that you were suffering from intermittent slowdown problems, as we were, then you changed the DNS numbers to the above mentioned new ones, and it did NOT resolve your problem?

  9. #9
    Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    What happend with the old DNS numbers

  10. #10
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by riravaga View Post
    What happend with the old DNS numbers
    the old "196" series DNS numbers still work, but are experiencing intermittent slowdowns.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •