La comida a la doce!!!

franco-da-chef

Oct 5, 2006
Greetings to all the good people in this message board. I am very new to this site, but by scrolling through and reading some of the threads I have already learned a whole lot. I was born in DR and I moved to the states very young, my last visit was in 1995. Currently I am a student in houston tx but in a couple of weeks i will be moving back home to NY. I study culinary arts, I am 28 years old and for a long time now I have been thinking of moving to DR once I graduate. My question is: Can I live comfortably in DR?
If someone could post the average salary for an assistant or head chef that would be great.
If anyone in this board could perhaps educate me more about working in the tourism industry please feel free to do so.
Thanx.
franco

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Welcome to the board.

Regarding your profession the easy answer is no, you cannot.

The catch is that if you can be hired by one of the hotel chains or one of the fast food chains (as a supervising chef for example) then you would be paid a fair wage.

I am sure that if you were to come here and look around (a lot has changed in 11 years) you would receive many promises of work. Fact is, they would be just that: Promises...

There are literally dozens of Italian, Spanish and other (nationalities) chefs wandering around the tourist coasts of the DR as well as the major cities, working and living...

A few have been lucky and have been able to set up their own operation and have make a go of it....

Take your time and get together some working capital and then take a look at what you can do...

HB

FireGuy

Rest in peace Amigo!
Aug 21, 2002
www.polaris-fs.com
PM or e-mail luzcace who posts on this board. He is the head Chef for a chain of hotels in the DR (three on the South Coast and one on the North Coast) and at a bare minimum should be able to give you relevant information which I am sorry to say will probably mirror what HB has already stated.