Lightning Protection

chadverizon

Apr 2, 2005
I seem to live in a house which defies the proverb that lightning never strikes the same place twice. I live between Sosua and Cabarete, and in the past two weeks both the planta and inverter have been zapped, boards fried. I have just installed a "grounding system" with 5 copper bars, salt, carbon, etc... Yet tonight lightning just hit a light pole, where there are wires, (not transformer) in front of my house and again getting I'm getting the coolers ready for another night of no lights.
Does anyone have info on how/who to protect my house, Tv, inverter and the rest from power surges? I am a North American resident, speak Spainsh, and have lived here awhile, so any good info would be appreciated

canadian bob

Bronze
Jan 16, 2002
The protection that you described, 5 long copper bars driven into the ground at least 4ft, with lots of salt to keep them damp should divert lightning to the ground. Power-surge protectors are available at the "Radio Shack" in Santiago for your electronic gear. Just be sure that all the house circuits are really grounded. I used 25 lbs of salt in the holes I dug & pounded in the copper bars as the coral can be very dry. Get a qualified electricita..... Suerte! Canadian Bob.

chadverizon

Apr 2, 2005
Lightning Rods

It sounds like I have most everything you described, do people use lightning rods here?
Thanks Bob!

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Chad: I have seen very little lightening rods inthis country. You had better find one soon....

I would also follow Bob's suggestionand check to see that ALL of the circuits are grounded....local electricians do not regularly ground household circuits.

If you remove a few of your base recepticles you will see that the third wire (the ground) is not there....