Caribbean First Timer!

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Flemster

Nov 2, 2006
Hello everyone!

I'm off to DM in less than 48 hours for my 1st ever trip to The Caribbean!
I've done the Far East travelling bit but this is my first foray into a packaged holiday.
two of us are heading for the Fun Tropicale AI resort in Playa Dorada on the 4th Nov and, whilst I've never done an AI before (or a package holiday for that matter!), we both don't want to be stuck in the resort for 14 days. I'm a firm believer in exploring the area as best is possible but a very tight budget is going to hamper this for us.
So, I was wondering if anyone could give me a few pointers as to what to see, where to go, who to talk to, etc.
The DM looks beautiful and I can't wait to go!
I'll post a post-holiday report of my impressions of the DM when I return!

The Flemster.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
~First off, it's the DOM. REP., the DR or the Dominican Republic. FYI.

Next off. There are tons of things to do off campus, so to speak.
Damajagua Falls if you are healthy. Four Wheel drives through cane fields.
Horse back rides.

A very funny guy that used the name of Sliver Ghost, and then Gray Ghost, posted onhis adventures. You can find his posts in the SEARCH function of this great board.

There is also a wonderful thread on DAMAJAGUA FALLS with pictures and all.

there is also the possibility of a trip to a real Dominican city like Santiago de los Caballeros, where you can see a more true picture of how this country lives. And it has the finest cultural center inthe Caribbean at the Centro Leon. And a Folklore museum, too. Plus shopping and such.

Good luck and do have fun!!

HB

sangria

Bronze
May 16, 2006
fun royale tropicale

Hi Flemster,
I sent you a pm about the hotel as I just returned on saturday from there.
Sangria

CyaBye3015

Bronze
Jan 8, 2003
~First off, it's the DOM. REP., the DR or the Dominican Republic. FYI. HB

Hillbilly is a real stickler on that point!