US Military Base in the DR

Status
Not open for further replies.

drbill

Dec 3, 2005
doomed, doomed!

You'll see, one day soon, the most popular message boards will be in English.:glasses:

Texas Bill

Silver
Feb 11, 2003
www.texasbill.com
I don't lnow how this will be received by the DR as a whole,
But, I posted my commentary on Dominican Today as an "Opinion".
Why not address your comments there. Should make for interesting reading.
Needless to say, I'm for it, because of the reasons stated.

Texas Bill

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
How's our friend Chavez going to react to this?
The U.S. has a military presence of one type or another in a little over 170 countries worldwide.

The US military has been involved in the DR since the first invasion of 1916. Since that time, US military has been training Dominican military in various tactics, among them how to topple goverments. In fact, the American Military School in Panama is where many heads of Latin American militaries are trained.

Why would this most recent move be any surprise to anyone?

It will not change anything of the DR, because what the DR is today is in part due to the passive allowance from the part of US officials and military personnel.

The proof of this is how swiftly the US reacted to remove Bosch from power in the 1960s, but did nothing to remove either Trujillo (until he was of no use to them) or Balaguer and they are going to do nothing to the DR now because for all its problems, the DR is still a great place for multinationals to make nice profits.

But, I'm saying nothing new here, everybody knows this.

I support this move.

-NALs

Mike S

Sep 22, 2004