First Time to the DR - Please Help Caribe Tour bus From Santo Domingo & Other Items

relax2day

Nov 10, 2006
First Time to the DR - Please Help Caribe Tour bus From Santo Domingo & Other Items

I am a newbie traveling on my first trip to the DR. Can anyone tell me the bus schedule to get from Santo Domingo to Puerto Plata? How many buses leave each day? Their scheduled times and costs?

Also if you have any ideas on a decent place to stay in the Colonial Zone?

Finally, the costs from Santo Domingo airport to the Colonial Zone? And from the Colonial Zone to the bus station.

Thanks for any help anyone can give. Also you probably can tell I am new to this website (smile). My planned trip is from December 4 through December 11 of this year.

Again, thanks for your assistance.

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
Caribe Tours website has all the information you need.

Colonial Zone hotels vary from seedy to luxury (Hotel Frances, Hostal Nicolas de Ovando). In the middle range you have places like Doña Elvira, Hotel Europa and several others. Search the forums and all will be revealed!

Taxis inside the city are RD$120 unless you get a tourist taxi outside the hotel or in certain spots in the Colonial Zone.

Taxis from the airport are about RD$800 or US$25.

Make sure you agree on a fare before setting off, and have the exact change.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
In case you are Spanish challenged, here are the hours of Departure from Santo Domingo to Puerto Plata.
6:00 7:00 8:00 9:00 10:00 11:00 AM & 12:00 1:00 2:00 3:00 4:00 5:00 6:00 7:00 PM

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Not sure about price to Puerto Plata since I buy a ticket to Sosua. To Sosua is RD$270, so less than that to Puerto Plata.

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004