international drivers permits???

ash

May 7, 2006
hey guys...just wondering if i need a international drivers permit to drive legally in the domincan republic...or am i just able to use my valid drivers license from canada.. any info will be greatly appreciated
thanks ash

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
hey guys...just wondering if i need a international drivers permit to drive legally in the domincan republic...or am i just able to use my valid drivers license from canada.. any info will be greatly appreciated
thanks ash
CDN license is fine, unless you move here, then you would need a local one.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
Remember, it's only legally valid for as long as your tourist visa, which right now is 15 days.

Snuffy

Bronze
May 3, 2002
That is all true but I have been driving here for 4 years on my USA license and have never had a problem. Numerous times the cops have asked to see my license and only once did one appear to have a problem with it. Of course it has been six months or so and maybe they are now clamping down.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
Snuffy, it's not about cops clamping down, the problem comes when you have an accident and if money is involved or someone hurt.

You can be stopped on red and if someone hits you and hurts themselves, you have a serious problem and could well be paying for years.
The horror stories are true, I have friends that have lived the nightmare.

Bottom line, if you're driving illegally, they will stick to the letter of the law if need be, especially if a gringo is involved. You are better off making a little effort to be 100% legal and not having any problems.

GALK

Mar 12, 2006
I'm travelling in and out of the DR approx. 10 to 12 times a year. Since 2 years , when asking the immigration officers at Las Americas airport, I've been told that the validity of the tourist card and visa has been extended to 30 days.