Sosua Kids..legit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pmey27

Oct 12, 2006
Is the Sosua Kids Charity legitimate or a scam? I heard from a local businessman that $$$ collected was to go to a dental clinic for the kids in Sosua but NO $$$ has been used....is there any accountability? I am concerned as every trip down there I have donated...Have we all been scammed? At least we can see the donations go to work at Rocky's bubbly run.....w/ the toys for the kids!

FireGuy

Rest in peace Amigo!
Aug 21, 2002
www.polaris-fs.com
Please do not confuse Sosua Kids
Sosua Kids
which is totally legitimate

with Dominican Kids
Dominican Kids
about which there have been questions. I have no direct knowledge as to the current status but this is addressed if you click on the "Updates" link on their website.

Gregg

Last edited:

Chris

Gold
Oct 21, 2002
www.caribbetech.com
As FireGuy says, Sosua Kids is a very legitimate and long-standing group of people who do good work. The contributions given to them, actually go to the children.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
Before anyone gets to the slander stage, is there any legite reason to doubt the other charity.
Some people did not receive the items they bid on, in the charity auction, and not one single pesos, a whole year later, has gone to any Dominican kid, and there have been countless complaints that contributors feel that the administrator of the funds might not be "genuine", but other than that, all is well.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
We withdrew our support for this project (Dominican Kids) back in March-April 2006. We transfered over all the money collected via the DR1 auction and made sure we made a documented clean break.

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com
Where did the money go Rob?? Some people might be wondering.......at the transferred over ....to where?

BushBaby

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
www.casabush.org