Reliability of "24 hour Security" in DR

Oct 29, 2006
I'm a new member to this site (joined in October 2006).
I have some knowledge of DR having been there for a total of 9 trips (5 alone this year).
I'm very interested in buying a property in DR. However, due to my lack of real living experience in the island, I would like to hear from the experts, tips which could help me decide what's best for my needs and concerns.

For me, the top priority is safety, and accordingly, I would like to start a thread, with everyone else's help to address the following points:

Security and safety issues with:

Houses or villas outside/inside gated communities.
Apartments (condos) outside/inside gated communities.
How is security conducted? What does it consist of?
How secure is "24 hour security"?
Actual resident's experiences.
Are beach front properties safer?
Do you need window gates in your "24 hour security" residence?
Street level vs higher floors?

I am sure that, like myself, there will be many others who could use all the information provided in this thread.

Thank you for your participation
Rafael Rothschild

canadian bob

Bronze
Jan 16, 2002