According to a new report, if you have over US$2,200; you are rich!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
We are all very much aware of the disparity of income that is obviously present everywhere in the DR.

In fact, if one was to analyze most discussions on this website, perhaps 90% of them concern with what is essentially the disparity of wealth and the various social implications that has on Dominican society (ie. Higher consumption on one hand / increase in crime on the other / glarring differences in standards of living, etc)

Well, I've just read an interesting news article which makes it clear just how wide the global disparity of wealth actually is!

The following is a quote from the report. The report is accessible at the link below:

"The richest 2% of the world's population owns more than half of the world's household wealth.

...The research indicates that assets of just $2,200 per adult place a household in the top half of the world's wealthiest. To be among the richest 10% of adults in the world, just $61,000 in assets is needed. If you have more than $500,000, you're part of the richest 1%, the United Nations study says. Indeed, 37 million people now belong in that category."

Got $2,200? In this world, you're rich

-NALs

Sep 19, 2005
I would not call it being in the top 10% of the richest people in the world having $60K.....I would call it NOT BEING IN the top 90% of the worlds poorest people....

so many people in the jungles of asia, the amazon, africa, the austrailian outback...who have a big fat goose egg...-0-.....that weighs the averages to such a distorted scale.....just the poverty of india and china could weigh the average hugely

bob

lulu

Jan 14, 2005
Yeah, I'm rich. I have always wanted to know what it feels like.

I dont feel anything

G

gary short

Yeah, I'm rich. I have always wanted to know what it feels like.

I dont feel anything

HAHAHAHA............now that's the funniest damn post I've read on this site for months