The Last Voyage of Columbus

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This past sunday I purchased a book titled "The Last Voyage of Columbus" by Martin Dugard.

For those of you who might develop an interest in reading this book, the ISBN is 0-316-15456-3 for the paperback which was published in May 2006.

In any case, I have to say this is one of my favorite books on Columbus and his voyages.

First, the author is extremely good. The book reads almost like a novel and I did find this book to be a page turner. I couldn't put the book down and the best of it all is that its based on an obviously true story!

As expected, much of the book revolves around Columbus and his voyages, but the author also focused on various occasions to the workings of a typical caravel in those times, the original settlement and design of Santo Domingo, etc.

There were several conclusive points that I got out of the book:

1. As I have always believed, Columbus was not responsible for the genocide of the Amerindians. While many modern people love to blame Columbus for the suffering of the natives, the truth is that Columbus did not had in his nature the desire to mistreat these people. If anyone should be blamed for such mistreatment, it should be Francisco Roldan who forced Columbus to ceade part of Hispaniola for him to do as he wished, including abusing the Taino. Another one is Francisco Bobadilla, with his lust for power and accusing Columbus of wrong doing. After he managed to send Columbus back to Spain in chains, he went to become a true oppressor, even forcing the Tainos to pull the carts which comfortably carried the Spanish administrators, as if the Tainos were horses or donkeys. Alonso de Ojeda who robbed the indians, raped their women, and killed them almost for pleasure. And worst of all was Nicolas de Ovando who insisted that the only way Tainos could be "pacified" was by killing their caciques, converting them to Catholicism, and killing the rest who refused.