I need: French/Russian/Piano Lessons in DR and a Spa

Guachupita

Dec 28, 2006
I'm a burned out NYC corporate rat-racer and have dreams and fantasies of wasting away the days in the DR getting caught up with what I consider the luxuries of life: having the time to do exactly what I please.

I'll be doing volunteer work, but in between times I want to wallow in decadence, which to me means taking up my French, Russian and Piano lessons again, and getting my hair and massage done religiously every week.

I also want to take up jewelry making, which I've been doing here for a couple of years. Who knows, possibly even set up a studio.

Any information about any of the above highly appreciated.

Oh, and ballet, must do ballet. And Flamenco.

Possibly winemaking.....LOL!

jamiear

Oct 4, 2006
I work in the DR often. A few years ago, I was here for a year, and I took ballet and flamenco. I took ballet at the National Ballet, and the classes were good, but, even in the adult classes, the girls were young (I was 23 at the time--now 27). I took some floor bar, strength for dancer classes, too, but I can't remember the name of the teacher. He was great, however, and had been recommended to me by and ex-professional dancer here. I also took flamenco classes then, too. If you send me a private message to remind me, I will try to find out the names for you. As far as jewelry, I wanted to do that, but did not, however, I know that there are classes at Chavon school of design--I think that is the one, affiliated with Parsons--in Santo Domingo and in Altos de Chavon. As far as wine making, I wish I knew! I don't know if that is happening here or not. I would just be happy if there were more wine lovers and I could get some well-stored, well-served wine at restaurants! Let me know if you hear anything or if you are in the Santo Domingo and want to drink wine!

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
There is an Alliance Francaise in Santo Domingo, a cultural centre with French lessons for adults.