Renting an apartment in Santiago

corsair74

Bronze
Jul 3, 2006
My friends and I have been traveling to the DR for about four years now and have finally decided to take the plunge and rent an apartment there. We have decided on on Santiago because we love the fact that it is less touristy than other "cities" on the island.

My question is, which neighborhoods would be ideal for someone who travels there once a month and does not actually plan to live there full-time. Ideally, it would have reliable security and internet access (we would like to be able to conduct business online). It does not have to be furnished and we are willing to pay up to $500 USD per month. Previously, we have rented an apartment close to the monument. I believe that the area is called Parte Alta. We liked that area, but would like to explore others.

I'v done a search of this forum, but it seems that all of the posts on this subject are old. We have a friend in Santiago that is helping us. However, I always like to do my own research before I make a decision.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Vince.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I will put my hounds on the task and perhaps when you arrive you can see a few.
Depending on where you get a place $500 might not cut it......

We'll talk.

HB

djlawlaw

Jul 6, 2006
I am interested in this question too. I am also looking for a place in Santiago In addition, which neighboorhoods are best. There was a nieghbor hood near El Caribe Tour's station that looked nice. I seem to recall a few high rise buildings there.

C

Chip00

Apartment/house

If you don't have to live downtown you can probably find what your looking for relativley easy. We rented a house with three bedrooms for $8000RD this year before we bout a house. Please be aware that you will have to normally put down a deposit of three months rent and the normal contract is one year.