Equipment Donation in Santo Domingo

klewis34

Feb 28, 2007
www.sckans.edu
I am new to the forum so forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place. I am a Leadership student at Southwestern College and have recently constructed a project to collect baseball supplies (gloves, balls and bats) in order to take to Santo Domingo in May. I have a contact with the KC Royals, however if they are unable to contribute, i plan to collect supplies locally. At this point i am working on how to get the supplies to the DR and who to distribute them to. About 20 students from the Leadership team will be flying down around 5-8-07 and will be there for a week. We will carry on what supplies we can but if i have the response that i am hoping for, I will need to ship supplies or have them sent some way. As for the distribution, i would like to get in contact with a YMCA or an orphanage.

I am open to any suggestions and would love to hear from any of you about ideas and possibilities for the project

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Where you flying into? If you are flying to Santo Domingo you can get in touch with the YMCA there. There are hundreds of little league and youth leagues. You might want to go further afield..like some of the Bateyes in San Pedro de Macor?s.

I would not worry about bringing stuff in..20 50-60 pound bags stuffed with baseball gear will be enough, I am sure.

HB

Cleef

Bronze
Feb 24, 2002
Yes, I do

anybody have suggestions/comments/ideas?
If Steve Pindar contacted you, then I'd highly recommend you follow his advice and network through him. He's been through it all in this sort of endeavor.

He's going to save you much time and frustration (not all, but a lot).

Best of luck to you.

klewis34

Feb 28, 2007
www.sckans.edu