the central bank CD's

incredible

Jul 9, 2006
I am sure many people rely on cds and different types of investments for living in the DR, so I have some questions for the experienced investor here.

1) How secure is a cd with the central bank?
2) What rates and terms are they currently paying?
3) What is the min and maximun amount you can invest in a cd and how many cds can you have?
4) Do you have to have Dominican residency to invest amd obtain a CD?
5) What is the best way to open up an account with the central bank?
6) If you know of any other good secure financial investments (with good returns) in the DR, please let me know?

I thank you for any help, in advance! :)

NotLurking

Bronze
Jul 21, 2003
Sto Dgo Este
It is as secure as anything in DR. That said, I believe the CDs from 'Banco Cental de la Republica Dominicana' (BCRD) are the most secure. Most of the commercial banks (Leon, Popular, Progresso and Asociaciones) you can buy CDs from usually buy CDs from Banco Central themselves with YOUR money. Obviously, they get paid a much higher interest rate than they pay out to you. Cut the middleman and get your CD from the source.

It depends on the type of CD and the length of time to maturity. BCRD had two types of CDs with maturity terms from 90 day to 30 month (2 1/2 years) but I don't think they are offering CDs with early cancellation at this time (you will have to check this, I'm not sure). The only CDs BCRD is offering (at the window - Ventanilla) is PLAZO FIJO. With PLAZO FIJO early cancellation is not possible. However, the CD is a negotiable financial instrument and can be transfer to another party at any time. (It can be sold or used for payment - if the debtor accepts it). The current rates are much better than commercial banks:

Certificados a Plazo Fijo

Plazos Tasas de Inter?s

180 d?as 9%
365 d?as 11%
18 meses 12%
24 meses 13%
30 meses 15%

3) What is the min and maximun amount you can invest in a cd and how many cds can you have?