12% of Dominicans have been victims of crime

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I am not a person who enjoys speculation of any kind, particularly when it has to do with touchy subjects such as crime. However, I am more inclined to believe concrete studies, polls, and other reliable data which shows the reality of any given situation without the added emotional suspense that speculation often brings into the equation.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Based on data collected by CIES/Universidad Iberoam?ricana (Unibe) in 2005, the following is true regarding crime and the Dominican population and the perception for why crime exist in the DR:

10% of Dominicans have been victims of crime and 20% say that an acquaintance has been a victim of crime.

Divided along socio-economic status, the following is true of victims of crime:

Upper 11.9% Middle 17.3% Lower 11.0%

Out of the total sample populatio, 12.2% have been victims of crime.

All socio-economic group members feel crime has increased.

Almost a third blame drug addiction and over a quarter blame the economic situation.

14.6% blame police inefficiency and 14.5% blame the justice system.

Technicalities of the report (PDF)

Document about crime (PDF)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
I think its important to note that crime rates have actually declined in the DR from 2005 to today, however this report will give people a more general and more accurate idea of the situation vs. speculation which could exaggerate either positively or negatively the actual situation and thus, leads people to make rational decisions based on misinformation.

-NALs

jrzyguy

Bronze
May 5, 2004
Interesting but pretty vague statistics no? It would be more helpful if it was broken down by types of crime. Robbery, Muggings, Murder, Rape...demgoraphics such as age, city, etc.