Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    204
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Need answers please help!

    Well most of you who know me on this board know that im looking for a job in the DR wich the search is going ok! But now I have a little question concerning a banking matter. How do you send money from a dominican bank account to a canadian bank account? And to open a dominican bank account to you have to be a resident (meaning do u need a residency card?).
    Thank you in advance for all your help
    Bellissima

  2. #2
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You can have a US account in a Dominican Bank, and do bank transfers.
    You probably need a US account in Canada as well, but I don't know for sure.
    It certainly would be less complicated.
    The last time I used such a service, they charged 50 bucks for a transfer up to $1,000 US.

  3. #3
    Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    77
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Banco Popular just needs a copy of your passport to open an account for you.As far as the transfers I am not sure of the costs.Scotia Bank will not open an account for a Canadian without residency.Just a little something the Canadain government has to keep track of us.Hope this helps

  4. #4
    Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    No need to be a resident of DR. I opened up an account with my US passport.

  5. #5
    On Vacation!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Sending money from a Dominican bank to a Canadian bank, now that's a first.......very doable...... your Dominican bank will transfer funds through Wachovia. If you're DR account is a peso account the transfer would be converted automatically to U.S. funds then back to Canadian funds deposited in your account. Perhaps having a US funds account on both ends would be best. I do not and have never had a problem. Hope that helps

  6. #6
    On Vacation
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    212
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Banco Santa Cruz charges $30 to wire funds. You do not need to be a DR resident to open a U.S. dollar account. They even pay 1% int. If you recieve checks from Canada ( cheques ) for real Canadians you can mail them for deposit in Canada. Costa Rica is where you go if you want to cash Canadian cheques at their Scotiabank.....I still liked my Dentist Post as that was all I got for my teeth cleaning.

  7. #7
    On Vacation!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Conversely you needn't pay more than $11. to transfer up to 10K US to ;for example: Banco Santa Cruz, from you're Canadian account......as long as you don't do it from a branch in bumwad North Saskatchewan...

  8. #8
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    204
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    ok so basicly if i have my canadian acct i can transfer money from my dominican acct where my pay chks will be deposit in when i start work. its just because i still have some stuff to pay back in canada so i want to make sure money will be available when the pmts go tru. Or what i can do is with the bank im with in canada open a us acct and then just do internet banking once the funds from the dr have arrived in my us acct just transfer them to the canadian one? is this correct?, im sorry with all the questions its just i want to be sure about what im doing!
    thanks for the replies

  9. #9
    .............. ?
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4,332
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You can easily open up a peso account and a US dollar account here. YOu need your passport and a letter of reference from you Canadian bank! Make sure to bring this with you.

    Then you can transfer money to your Canadian bank, however you will not want to do this every month - it isn't exactly cheap - depending how much you need to transfer you might want to do this once every 3 months.

  10. #10
    Silver
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    2,594
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    If you have somebody in Canada who can help, it may be cheaper to open a seperate account here in the DR. Provide the ATM card to the person in Canada and ask them to withdraw the money at the ATM and make the deposit for you. This will be alot cheaper if you are talking of a few hundred dollars at a time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •