dengue fever

andrewc52002

Feb 6, 2007
I've just read about an epidemic DF in North of DR. How do the expats view DF and deal with it ? Is it a major/scary concern ? There were 50 deaths last year in DR from DF.
Thank you.

2LeftFeet

Bronze
Dec 1, 2006
I am not an ex-pat but I was there in January. I think I contracted it. I'm not sure. I was treated for it. It was hell.

There isn't much you can do for it. They are attempting to make a vaccine for it.

It's mosquito borne. You have to get rid of the mosquitos. It's usually more of a urban disease than a country disease--unlike malaria but tell that to the mosquito.

Mosquitos will go where the mosquito will go!

It's a concern but ... you probably have more of a chance of getting hit by a car than malaria or dengue..... but somebody has to get it!!!

If you have luck like me... wear lots of repellant. I didn't.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Why don't the moderators make a Dengue Fever sticky?

Every time there is an upsurge in Dengue Fever, new threads are created and usually the same questions and answers are given over and over again.

-NALs;)

andrewc52002

Feb 6, 2007
Why don't the moderators make a Dengue Fever sticky?

Every time there is an upsurge in Dengue Fever, new threads are created and usually the same questions and answers are given over and over again.

-NALs;)

I wanted to know how the expats deal with this problem. Do they decide to leave the country, do they move to other provinces, do they lock themselves inside (lol) ? Do they learn from the locals ?
We don't have it in Canada and I'm curious to see how it affects expats' lives in DR.
Thank you.

Tuan

Aug 28, 2004
not to worry much