The NGO Game

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Personally, I dislike many NGOs working in the DR. At first glance you think they are doing good things as they claim (and quite a few actually are doing what they claim to be doing), but the moment you begin to scratch the surface things turn sour and fast.

Not surprisingly, I'm not the only one who have noticed this discrepancy and in fact, another DR1 member provided a quote on another thread in which it equated NGOs to modern imperialists or something of the sort.

Now, to be fair I will quote Chiri (there could be a conflict of interest there, but lets continue) when she once said to me "well NALs, there are NGOs and then there are NGOs". The meaning being that some NGOs do their work while others don't. Ok, fair enough, but lets focus on the aspects of NGOs which are less than ideal.

I will provide a few quotes below from a source and at the bottom you will have links to various sources criticizing NGOs for various things that are not apparent at first glance, but with further investigation of your most favorite NGO you will notice how much truth exist in such criticisms.

"Western NGOs are the heirs to the Victorian tradition of "White Man's Burden"... They closely collaborate with Western governments and institutions against local governments and institutions. They are powerful, rich, and care less about the welfare of the indigenous population than about "universal" principles of ethical conduct."

"...[NGOs] attract narcissistic opportunists who regards NGOs as venues of upward social mobility and self-enrichment. Many NGOs serve as sinecures, "manpower sinks", or "employment agencies" - they provide work to people who, otherwise, are unemployable. Some NGOs are involved in political networks of patronage, nepotism, and cronyism."

"If [the NGO own or run commercial enterprises], it is a corrupt and compromised NGO involved in conflicts of interest."