Protecting the local culture?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I originally posted this as a response to duhtree in another thread, but I think it merits an entire thread all to its own and hopefully will spark a good debate.

duhtree said:
Oh! How exciting! Soon I won't have to leave South Beach. So then what's the point of going to the D.R.

I go to the D.R. for the Dominican Republic and its culture not to a place that is a replica of my home country and sterilized.

What is in your minds, people?

Can't culture exist with progress?

I am often intrigued when people say they go to a place for 'its culture' and yet, the same people reject or, at the very least, feel uneasy when progress begins to take place.

Look at Puerto Rico, very modern and progressive and yet, they still retain much of what makes a Boricua a... well... a Boricua!

Sometimes what people deem as 'culture' in many ways is nothing more than an economically inferior lifestyle compared to the lifestyle of people from the first world and I think many "first world tourists" want for certain places to remain the same forever, for their own enjoyment on their two-weeks vacation.

For many of these foreigners and tourists, the 'real' Dominican culture is manifested in one word: POVERTY. Anything that leads away from poverty is seen as tampering with the 'culture', thus in order to protect the local 'culture', the poverty must be protected as well and that means keeping the huts with thatch roofs, keeping the dirt roads, keeping the deprived people deprived.

Notice how not many tourists regard middle class Dominicans or upper class Dominicans as being part of the 'real culture', it's only the poor Dominicans and many include poor Haitians under the title of the 'real Dominican culture' while excluding Dominicans from the upper classes from such 'real culture'.