Edesur Thieves charging me every month when I am not even there!

incredible

Jul 9, 2006
Okay here is the deal...

I have been renting a 250 meter luxury apartment for the past 25 months in Santo domingo, and i am there half the time, meaning I live in SD 1 month, then NY 1 month etc

Well, no matter what for the past 2 years I get charged appx $1,100 - $1,300 USD, a month for electricity. Even when I am not there!

So as of now, Edesur owes me well over $12,000 in overbilled fees.
If I ever tried to argue and did not pay they immediately shut my electric off!

I have taken the following steps without success!

1) turned off my breaker box and took video and photos
2) I got afidvaits from my maid & the administrators of the building stating I was never in the apartment during the aforementioned stays!
3) Had eletricians check for anyone that may be illegally tapping in my electric line...
4) I made a copy of my passport proving i was out of the country the 12 months i was not there...
5) Hired an abogodo to handle this

The attorney stated Edesur would not give me a refund cuz I am American and can afford to pay, CAN YOU BELIEVE THIS! This is no BS...

This is really unfair and I am sure I couldnt be the only one in this situation! I am getting VERY upset at this point..

1) What can I do to get my money back?

2) can the company do this to me legally?

3) What options do I have? A

4) Are there any attorneys that specialize in preventing this type of thievery?

I am thinking about just buying a 20k generator now, i am sick of these thieves!

Any help is greatly appreciated... :cheeky:

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
According to Law 125-01, you are allowed to challenge electrical distribuidors for excess charges to your electricity bill. Here's a link for basic information on the process and steps to obtain redress....

Superintendencia de Electricidad

2LeftFeet

Bronze
Dec 1, 2006