Another Dominican drowns - Ode to Miguel

TEHAMA

Feb 3, 2004
I debated a few days whether to post this. As I rest in my big bed and enjoy the comforts of my trappings while deciding which stock to buy this year...yadda yadda yadda. I learned that Miguel jumped to his death this week. Not a college grad, yet a very bright kid. Born on the wrong side of the tracks unable to transition to the prosperous side of Dominican life. Not even 30 yold and jumped from a bridge. Washed away in the river currents like other worthless, disgarded debris.

He begged to go to the US, or even Mexico for that matter. And spoke extremely decent English for a self-taught student and would tell me of barrio conditions far beyond the Tourist areas. Sleeping pills at night to get pass the hunger pains as he dreamt of having better meals. He told me once as I was preparing to return to the States..."I hope its (the island) underwater before you return."

I realize I am just saddened over the lost of my pal. But it frustrates me to no fukkin-end to see a country that fails to invest in its on future, its citizens. Yet rely on the wealthier citizens to become educated and improve at the expense of the rest. The rich gets richer is a complete understatement, a welathier Dominicans find ways to get their kids jobs at any parent should. While the lesser continue to struggle or do without. A country that builds a "freakin" subway inleu of a reliable enegry source to run the damn thing. Where theft, greed, and corruption rules. Ineptness at every turn. Expat fugutives to exploit the poorer Dominicans. Where you have to pay extra, side pesos, to have employed people actually "do the work" they are hired by the company to do.