mamajuana

Chichiguita

Dec 30, 2004
I was wondering if anyone knows if you can bring mamajuana back to the U.S. by plane? Do they give you a hard time? Can it be carried on the plane or does it need to be packed? Will they allow it at all? Just wondering?

Kimmir

Mar 7, 2007
HI I just brought some back last trip. I put it in my checked bag. If you buy it at the air port You have to check it before customs. They didnt give me any problems at all it was a package deal with a mid size bottle of ron, wine, and mamajuana.

Chichiguita

Dec 30, 2004
Kimmir-
Thanks for the info. I have been traveling to the DR for several years now and have never tried mamajuana--I am hoping it will help me "cope" with my DR homesickness. That and vicariously living through the adventures of folks like you. I drink cafecita by the "thimble-sized-cupful" and have learned to make a decent plate of rice and beans---but I need something for the evening. I hope this will be a fun conversation piece--both with friends who have never experienced the DR as well as friends who have been many times. One of my friends is leaving this weekend and I want to ask her to bring some back. Can you tell me how much your happy package deal was??? I understand you can get it online--but there is something about getting it straight from the island that I think will feel good. Thanks.

pyratt

Bronze
Jan 14, 2007
You have to check the twigs and roots only if you're buying booze outside the duty free, if you buy the rum in the duty free shops AFTER Customs, you're allowed 6 bottles back into the USA. It's always fun to watch the expression on the Customs Officials when they first spot the bag of herbs....they know what is, they've seen it ALL before.

Tamborista

hasta la tambora
Apr 4, 2005