Salary ?

D

Duke

I am looking for information about salaries (computer industry) and prices (flat, furniture, food...) in Santo Domingo.

M

mary

I am researching the same things...people have been very helpful in sending e-mails and posting messages. Scroll down a bit and read the response to my post "moving to DR, have job" a women left a message that was very helpful! I also work in the computer industry, the internet specifically. I have been reading that the DR gov. has committed to getting all public schools connected to the Web by the end of August, maybe there are some opportunities there??? Apartments tend to range from 300$ - 3000$ US...people have told me they have nice apartments in safe and nice parts of SD for about 500$US. I have heard mixed reposrt on furniture prices, some say its very expensive others say its comprable to the US - of course it depends on your tastes. go the the escapeartist.com web site...its amazing and very helpful!

P

prtyr

rent

I've gor a place in Isabellita. Less than $300 per month. 1 block from water, Avenida Espana,malecon. Two fairly large bedrooms, living room/dining combo, kitchen, laundry room, balcony, and a small "servants quarters with a small second bath.

Electricity has been known to be less than reliable and it can be without water for a few days. I need to buy a reserve tank to go on the roof to take care of that. Not a ritzy neighborhood, but I've never felt unsafe at all. It is near the Hotel Aquarium, and avenida las americas, so getting to and from airport is kind of quick.

I'm only there a few days a month so it is fine for me. If I lived there, I would either fix it up a bit or get a little bit nicer place. Pretty affordable overall.

BTW, there is a severe shortage of English teachers in SD right now. My girlfriend is studying english and her teacher is less than great.

M

Mark

Re: rent

PLEASE REFER HELP OR REFER ME, i AM LOOKING FOR A ATTRACTIVE 2 BEDROOM APT SANTO DOMINGO / BOCA CHICA AREA.

S