Single Mum Needs Help To Relocate

mariainspain

May 12, 2007
HI EVERYONE
i am new to this.
we are an english family that has lived in spain for 7 yrs and now want to relocate tp the d.r.
my kids are 8 and 9.
i am an english language teacher.
my children are bilingual, spanish and english.i am divorced.
where is the safest part of the island to be as a foreign mother with 2 young kids.
i need to work a little as a teacher, i need to put my kids into a private school but not an expensive one.
my 8 yr old son has dyslexia and concentration problems but not too major.
any ideas or suggestions where to but or not to buy.
any ideas on how to rent or anything.
many thanks
maria

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
I would contact the International School in Sosua and ask about a teaching position. They are always looking for qualified teachers. If you have your Masters you will get a larger salary.

The number is 809-571-3271.

C

Chip00

Many would say go to Santiago because of the more laid back style and the fact that there are less tourists. Even though you appear to be bilingual if you appear foreign you will be treated as such in the tourist areas on the north coast.

Santiago has many fine bilingual schools, in fact my daughters, go to one called Holy Trinity just down the road from my house. Also, prices for houses here in Santiago are quite reasonable. Not only that there are a few nice supermarket chains where you can get all the stuff you need, a couple of malls and movie theatres not to mention many fine restaurants. Also, the beach is only an hour or so away on the highway.

Good luck.

natura

Jun 8, 2006
www.naturacabana.com
you should rent for the first year...........before you buy anything. There are several private schools in the Sosua...Cabarete area. There are English families here to assist you to make the change. Good luck and keep in touch

Chris

Gold
Oct 21, 2002
www.caribbetech.com