Flooding in Montellano - Photos

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Chip00

The 'fix' for the river in Montellano actually seems to have increased the flooding, with water reaching homes it never has before.

Photos: Flickr: Photos from www.sacandomelao.com

Montellano community website: portada

I would be interested in what that "fix" would be as I'm a civil engineer.

Also, I'm a little doubtful about the drainage design as it is done here in the DR because I talked with a couple of the principle engineers her of a large and respectable civil engineering firm and they both asked me questions that any junior engineer coming out of college would know in the US. One of the guys was an owner and I'm sure both are registered professionals here.

I see that a lot of the problems here are caused by the increase of development without a proportional increase in the development of the drainage systems.

First off, many pervious undeveloped areas have natural "low" areas that act as "retention" devices which receive the rainfall runoff and let it discharge over time - thus reducing the amount of runoff running overland and thus reaching the "low" area of the basin. As "pervious" undeveloped areas is covered up with "impervious" structures like road and buildings less and less of the rainfall can be soaked up by the ground and therefore runs overland and accumulates in the "low" areas of the basin or sub-basin causing flooding.

The method used in the US is to create artificial "retention" areas or ponds that will receive the runoff and let it discharge over time, thus reducing the amount of rainfall that can accumulate.