Let's talk about Wine!

Chichiguita

Dec 30, 2004
Can anyone recommend a favorite wine from the Dominican Republic?if there is such a thing? If so, what are the properties you enjoy? I am just starting to learn about wines and would like to ?explore this part of the beautiful island?.

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
Can anyone recommend a favorite wine from the Dominican Republic?if there is such a thing? If so, what are the properties you enjoy? I am just starting to learn about wines and would like to ?explore this part of the beautiful island?.

In not usually fastidious about spelling ...;-) but you left out the h, it's spelled whine, not wine.

gamana

Apr 24, 2006
i have never heard of Dominican wine. It might exists but I doubt the climatic conditions of DR will ever permit quality wine.

Chichiguita

Dec 30, 2004
alas...

While I was waiting for a response, I googled to see if I could find an answer...Same thing...not much. Oh well, it was worth asking. If anyone has some ideas, please let me know. lk

Jan 5, 2006
There are wines produced in DR, however, I cannot attest as to their quality.

There is a co-op undertaking in Neyba (southwest region) with help from Italian wine experts that is trying to produce grapes for winemaking in quantities that are viable for commercial use. I have seen video footage that shows the grape fields and the winemaking facility, and in that footage, one of the Italian experts stated that the soil and weather conditions in Neyba were very similar to those of Tuscany (central Italy), and were favorable for producing quality grapes for winemaking.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
Why bother with Dominican wine, when Chilean wines are so good & cheap?
The DR makes great rum, arguably world class, but wine is at the bottom of the list of Dominican specialities.