ANACAONA - LOS CASICAZQUES huh?

EK07

Jun 2, 2007
OK, since the group seems to know the area quite well.... can I get a few recommendations on new 3+ beds, 2+ bath apts in Casicazques (SP)? Prices seem to flucutate $1,500 to $3,000.... Is it best just to wonder around and ask the security in front in there are any available?

We have checked with realtors but they seem to guide where they can get ;);)

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
$1,500 is a good price for those areas, $3000 is probably a bit too much unless it is some kind of luxury penthouse. Best thing is to drive around - there are always 'For Rent' signs posted all over the place, and yes, asking the guard is not a bad idea either.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Casicazques (SP)?
Correct spelling: Cacicazgos; its a Taino word meaning kingdom or chieftain. In Santo Domingo, its the upper-income residential neighborhood bordering the northwestern part of the Mirador del Sur park.

-NALs

something_of_the_night

Has left the building...
Feb 7, 2006
Correct spelling: Cacicazgos; its a Taino word meaning kingdom or chieftain. In Santo Domingo, its the upper-income residential neighborhood bordering the northwestern part of the Mirador del Sur park.

-NALs

Darn it! The name sounded cool, but now I know I could never live there.

Que vaina!

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
Relax - although there are some streets with mansions and luxury apartment blocks we have a number of friends who in Los Cacicazgos who are not upper income. One family was paying US$700 per month for a house with a garden, and another bought a nice 2-bed apartment on a quiet street for about RD$2m under a year ago.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Darn it! The name sounded cool, but now I know I could never live there.

Que vaina!
The names of all the streets in Los Cacicazgos are all Taino names of several campos in the Cibao valley.