24/7 electricity

zoomzx11

Gold
Jan 21, 2006
I live on Camino Llibre in Sosua which is the street that runs up the hill opposite the Texaco station. For two years have had the usual DR electrical circumstance. Suddenly and without warning we have lights 24/7. Does anyone know what gives, I am overjoyed and almost afraid to post and somehow jinx my most excellent situation. Asking around I have gotten two answers. One is that our area is paying their electrical bills and the other is that Residential Hispaniola wants full time electric and has paid to get it thus benefitting our entire street which is on the same line. Residencial Hispaniola is a large new gated community about half way up the hill. I am afraid that I will get used to it and return to my former gringo state of depending on electricity that does not go out all the time.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The electricity companies have been working in improving the system and since the beginning of this year hundreds of circuits across the country are now on the 24/7 plan.

Of course, it all depends on an agreement made between the EDEs and the residents within those circuits, usually the residents agreeing to pay their bill every month and the EDEs supply electricity non-stop.

Many neighborhoods in Santo Domingo and Santiago, among other places are already receiving electricity 24/7. The most recent town to get into the plan is Jarabacoa with the program being barely a week old. However, according to what I've been told, ever since the program was put in place in Jarabacoa the lights are on and they have not blinked for a second.

If no agreement has been signed between yourself and your neighbors with the Edenorte or if nothing has been said about Edenorte proposing to turn the circuit your hooked on into a 24/7 circuit, then its more likely that your taste of stable electricity could be due to the gated community you mentioned.

-NALs

cork

Aug 23, 2003