Interesting Article on DR in Miami Herald

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
"A Rising Voice: Afro-Latin Americans Miami Herald

Dominican Republic

Black denial

Nearly all Dominican women straighten their hair, which experts say is a direct result of a historical learned rejection of all things black...."

False! ridiculous! nonsense! hogwash! swill journalism at its worst! pure anti-Dominicanism!...

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Interesting article indeed, interesting to see wishful thinking in action.

-NALs:tired:

C

Chip00

Interesting article witha lot of truths and unfortunately some untruths. Yes, Dominicans on the whole don't accept their African heritage but neither do they accept their Indian heritage either.

I think the following excerpts from Dominicans in the article below pretty much describe the dynamic:

"The problem is Haitians developed a policy of black-centrism and . . . Dominicans don't respond to that," said scholar Manuel N??ez, who is black. "Dominican is not a color of skin, like the Haitian."

"Under Trujillo, being black was the worst thing you could be," said Afro-Dominican poet Blas Jim?nez. "Now we are Dominican, because we are not Haitian. We are something, because we are not that."

My understanding is that Dominicans in effect associate black with Haitian and therefore would like to distance themselves from the "common" characteristics as much as possible. However, this "aversion" to all charecteristics only goes so far. Dark people in the DR, while maybe are not considered as "attractive" etc. aren't typically prejudiced against the same as can be found in othere racially divisive societies. Sure, young guys and girls who are somewhat dark (as most are in the DR) will say they want to marry someone with light skin and clear eyes but that doesn't stop them from marrying someone even darker than them.