Lebanese Community in D.R.

mfrias

Jul 19, 2007
Hi everyone,

I am a student from New York, my parents are both Dominican, but I found out recently that my great-grandfather who was Arab, was in fact Lebanese. I am applying for a Fulbright scholarship (prestigious research grant) because I would like to learn more about this community in D.R. I know a little about their early immigration to the country in the late 1800s-1900s. What I would like to do is focus on a more contemporary issue that may be impacting this community. WOULD ANY OF YOU BE WILLING AND ABLE TO ANSWER SOME OF MY QUESTIONS??
---I truly would appreciate your help, thank you in advance!! :)
Sincerely,
Micheline
Below are my questions in Spanish...most people here I am assuming can read Spanish?

1.) C?al fue la ola de inmigracion mas reciente de libaneses a La Republica Dominicana?

2.) Mas o menos, cuantos descendientes libanesa viven en La Republica Dominicana hoy? Tal vez mas interesante, cuantos libaneses inmigrantes y de primera generacion viven en La Republica Dominicana?

3.) Sabes como podria conseguir informacion sobre el numero de inmigrantes libaneses a la Rep. Dom. para cada a?o? Hay una pagina de web del gobierno que podria tener esta informacion?

4.) Cuales pueblos estan mas populado con libaneses o sus descendientes?

INTREGRACION A LA SOCIEDAD DOMINICANA:
5.) Hoy en dia, cuales son las actividades economica de los libaneses/descendientes?

6.) Me imagino que han adoptado las costumbres del pa?s? Como, el idioma espa?ol, la musica latina, comida, y tambien otras tradiciones ideologicas?

PRESERVACION DE LA RAIZ:
7.) Sabes si los libaneses o descendientes en La Rep. Dom. participan en politicas del Libano o del Medio Oriento?