appartment advice for student...NEEDED

lalad87

Jul 27, 2007
Ok so Im planning on studying in Santiago for the fall semester. I know the DR pretty well but mostly the country side (monte crisiti) so I have absolutely NOOOO idea what its like in the 'big city'. i was wondering considering the fact i am a student if anyone has advice on getting apartments in Santiago for the months of august through December. what are price ranges for a two bedroom apartment in a decent area (obviously safe...as I am female and will be at times on my own) but also where i can access things relatively easy. as long as i'm on one of the concho lines. and if i can get a furnished apartment? also is there anyway i can do any searching online, i dunno like online newspapers with add listings?
thanks for your help!:cheeky:

StellaRay

Apr 8, 2007
I am not an expert by any means, but I figured I would try to give you a little help. I don't know about apartments through August-December, from my knowledge most apartment rentals are normally done on a yearly base. However, the first piece of advice I would give you is to contact your university. There should be some type of office for international students, and they can give you a little of possible homestays with families or apartment rentals (which would be furnished). I don't know about all the universities, but I know PUCMM does for sure. They even have a section on their website, check that out if it applies to you.
If you're a young female on your own, you might want to look into the urbanizaciones closest to the university, so you're not having to rely on conchos after hours.
There are plenty of Santiago experts on the board that can give your more detailed advice, I just figured I would start it off.
Good luck!

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
You can call PUCMM at 809 580 1962 and listen to the options. Estudiantes Internacionales has a list of home stay families.