Global Warming: True or a Hoax?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
First and foremost, let's be clear that climate change of any sort affects everyone and every place on earth, including the DR; so this is on topic to be on DR1 and since its an environment issue, its on topic to be in the Environment forum.

Now to the point.

An interesting article was recently published by Newsweek magazine titled "The Truth About Denial" concerning the Global Warming agenda and how there are, supposedly, groups who are hell bent on doing anything to disprove this theory that has gained momentum in recent years.

I simply would like to hear the opinions of DR1ers concerning this, but first please read the follow two articles:

Newsweek in 1975: "The Cooling World"

Newsweek in 2007: "Global Warming Deniers: A Well-Funded Machine"

My questions is this:

DO YOU TRUST NEWSWEEK, GIVEN THE HISTORY THEY HAVE OF PUBLISHING ARTICLES PREDICTING A DOOMSDAY SCENARIO?

DO YOU THINK GLOBAL WARMING IS REAL OR SIMPLY A FAD? PLEASE BRIEFLY EXPLAIN WHY?

-------------------------

Click here to cast your vote.

-NALs

Last edited:

DAKRA

Bronze
Feb 21, 2007
I beleive that there is SOMETHING going on.... After all of the fossil fuels that we are burning, the nuclear power we are using, the chemical that we are releasing into the air, SOMETHING is happening.

A.Hidalgo

Silver
Apr 28, 2006
An interesting article was recently published by Newsweek magazine titled "The Truth About Denial" concerning the Global Warming agenda and how there are, supposedly, groups who are hell bent on doing anything to disprove this theory that has gained momentum in recent years.
Supposedly? Think tanks were named in the article. Just google a few and you will clearly see their conservative corporate ties.

DO YOU TRUST NEWSWEEK, GIVEN THE HISTORY THEY HAVE OF PUBLISHING ARTICLES PREDICTING A DOOMSDAY SCENARIO?