Introduction

mrpatm

Aug 14, 2007
I guess this is the best place to start. So here goes, I am like many seeking employment and relocation to the DR. I am a 51 year old male and a machinist by trade. I have been apprenticeship trained ( if you are in the trades you know that has some meaning) and if it is made of metal,wood plastic,composite or glass I can make manufacture or repair it (LOL). I have been investigating places to live without having to have a snow shovel for about 3 years. I have narrowed it down to several places the DR being one of them. I just had a wonderful VACATION to luperon beach area and would like to do much more investigation prior to a test relocation periods for 1 month 3 months then 6 months before becoming a expat.

I was in the military for an extended time and did time in panama so tropical life is not unfamiliar to me.

I am working on the bilinguial issue daily.
I just today joined this forum and would love to chat with anyone with constructive advise.

So I guess my first request would be does anyone have the names of placement agencies that work in the DR so I can start a job search?

I am lucky enough to have the freedom to relocate earlier than retirement if a good oppourtunity came along.

I also have some rather peculicuar request like what is the name of the processing plant for coconuts in the DR?
ect.

Who is the biggest scuba equipment supplier in the country ?

Is there a Waterjet ( manufacturing equipment ) machine within the DR?
it would be listed as part of a machine shop service.

Is there a major marine engine repair location or are ther all small shops all over?

are woodpeckers truly causing a ecological problem on the island ?

I know these may seam like random and weird questions but beleive it or not they do have reasons.

one trait that I do have is solving problems with unique ideas.