Living in Santiago?

S

ScottieMon

In august, I'm moving to Santiago. I will be attending Pontificia Universidad Catolica Madre y Maestra(PUCMM).Ive never been to the D.R. before, and I was wandering if anyone could tell me of any interesting things to do in the city. How is the night life? How is the school, and the area surrounding it? Are there any web-sites that might help learn more about the city? I heard that Gold's Gym was being built. When will it open? Also, is there a reggae bar in the city?
Thanks for any information.
Scott

H

Hillbilly

University or Party? *PIC*

Dispite the nickname, I've been a professor at the Pucmm for over 35 years, and, although retired and in other activities, let me tell you that you might be in for a rude awakening if you go there with an attitude to Party and Raggae and so forth.

Are you coming as an exchange student? On the Ciee program? Or as a "real" student? Either way they will expect you to preform academically, and in Spanish-academic Spanish to boot.

And if you are thinking "Medicine" you can pretty well forget anything except studying and trying to get some sleep.

Don't worry though, I can help you fill out the "Withdrawal Request" slips.

Besides that warning, there is plenty of night life in Santiago, enough to guarantee your failure as a student, but guarantee your success as a social butterfly. Believe me on this....It's a great city, especially A-F-T-E-R you've finished studying...

Me, from where you'll be if you don't wake up...

S

ScottieMon

Re: University or Party?