puerto plata best hotels?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SKD

Oct 8, 2007
Hi there, this is my first time on this forum. I am having a hard time deciding on a hotel in Puerto plata. Me and my family were planning a trip with my brother's family who is in the US and I am in Toronto to Puerto plata in Dec.
Iberosta Costa DOrado is expensive then there is Grand Oasis and also Bahia Pricipe??? Can anyone help me out? :ermm:
Thanks, S.

SKD

Oct 8, 2007
For 7 days and they had a deal 3 weeks ago at $769.00. Now, there are over $1200.00. I was hopping $800.00 - $1000.00.

dr_qt

Jun 7, 2007
Are you bringing children?
If not I would recommend the Blue Bay resort. If you are bringing children, then Holiday Village resort.

FireGuy

Rest in peace Amigo!
Aug 21, 2002
www.polaris-fs.com
If you are talking "deal" most selloffs are within a month or less of the travel date. For $800CDN - $1000CDN (plus taxes) you should be able to get a decent resort in Playa Dorada. One of the best values there IMHO is Fun Royale.

Gregg

SKD

Oct 8, 2007
Thanks, I did not check Holiday village resort, and yes I am taking my 3 year old.

curlyq

Mar 20, 2006
I always say you 'get what you pay for'. If the difference is only a couple hundred dollars I would choose Iberstar Costa Dorada hands down. You can't go wrong and will be gauranteed an amazing holiday. You will be taken care of 24/7 by the wonderful staff at this resort. Will be returning for my fifth stay here and would'nt stay anywhere else.

curlyq

planner

.............. ?
Sep 23, 2002
The Grand Oasis is fine (in Playa Dorada) The Bahia Principe is almost 2 hours from Puerto Plata - I do not recommend it. For me it is in the middle of bloody nowhere....

I agree with Fireguy - for bang for your dollar - the Fun Royale / Fun Tropicale is a good resort. It is a 3 1/2 star only and does not pretend to be anything else. You will have good food, good service and a lot of fun there.