Looking for SALSA/MERENGUE Instructor in Santiago

johhny1

Oct 14, 2007
Hi folks,

I am new to this forum, so please be gentle. I currently reside in the U.S. and fell in love with the DR five years ago on leave from the military. I am now planning to go back in Nov.

Last time I stayed in Santo Domingo and quite enjoyed myself. This trip I am planning to visit the interior. Of interest to me is the tobacco plantations, rum distillieries, the countryside and of course the night life and dining. But most of all, I am looking for one on one 2-3 hour everyday workout consisting of SALSA and MERENGUE instruction. I am trying for a crash course in dancing so that I may at least be able to hold my own. I have some basic experience, but require much work.

Also, if someone can provide me with a good alternative to the hotels such as an apartment rental or something similar for my stay in Santiago. I would appreciate it.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
1) Isidora Dance Studios offer such lessons.
2) How long will you be staying?
3) How about some dates?

HB

dr_qt

Jun 7, 2007
If you want to get a "leg up" before you leave New York, there are tons of salsa dance studios there. Just check the phone book under 'dance' or do a web search under 'New York'+dance+salas
You should get plenty of hits!

ctrob

Silver
Nov 9, 2006
I don't see where you said you were in NY, but if so you are in Salsa Central N.A. - plenty of studios and places to practice...

another thing to try is You-Tube...you can watch and practice, plenty of instructional videos on there....

But a must-do if going to the interior and away from the big city, is to learn some Bachata...Bachata is a popular dance with Dominicans, I'm not sure how popular it is in Santo dom but EXTREMELY easy to learn the basic 4-beat step and a ton of fun to dance - chicas love doing the bachata with a gringo :bunny::bunny: