Ambulance Services in the DR

oneday64

Oct 19, 2007
en.wikipedia.org
Hi everyone - very new to this but looking to find contacts with people in the DR in regards to Ambulance Services operating there - I am a paramedic from Australia and will be travelling to the DR next year - I would like to make contact with anyone that can put me in touch with ambulance operators before I come that way especially in the Puerto Plata, Sosua, and Cabarete areas as I will be staying with a friend in Sosua - I also have a friend in Santo Domingo any help would be appreciated - I was in the DR in 2006 and loved it there - looking forward to my return trip - regards - Ian

alicious

Bronze
Oct 2, 2007
As far as contacts for you, I'm sorry, I have none...but I hope you will arrive there and help their services out some...!!!!

I rarely remember seeing ambulances in the DR...

One of the only times I saw one, was after waiting for one on the side of the road for over 45 minutes..(in the Puerto Plata area)

I hope some other member's have some contacts for you, but I am also interested in hearing from other members, if they know, what the response times are in their areas....

oriole100

Bronze
Oct 9, 2005
There's one that runs out of Serv-Med in Caberete. I don't know who to ask for , but Rocky might.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
I'm not really knowledgeable on the subject, but I could give you my impressions.
There are very few ambulances around here and I believe that it has a lot to do with local public transport being so very cheap, while ambulances are quite expensive.
As the DR has not caught onto the American way of being "sue crazy", anyone around at the moment of an accident will transport the victims to a hospital.
It's faster and cheaper.
People and/or cops at the scene of an accident, will flag down the first public car they see, to transport an injured victim.