Workplace Health & Safety

Mooseman

Oct 28, 2007
I don't know if this is the best place for this thread, but feel free to move it if it has a better location.

By profession, I am a consultant in the field of Occupational Health & Safety (OH&S). Professionally, I am registered as an Occupational Hygienist and, no, I don't clean teeth. The field concerns itself with the safety and health of workers in industries, institutions (hospitals, schools, offices) and construction.

There are many organizations in North America that deal with worker safety and health issues. One of these orgs is the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA), of which I am a member. I did sit, and will again, on the AIHA International Affairs Committee. I have asked a past Committee Chair if there are initiatives toward investigating and improving the level of worker health and safety in the DR specifically, and on other Caribbean islands as well.

What I need from other DR1 posters are thoughts, stories, advice, examples, etc about the worker safety situation in the DR. I saw a few things last week that were out of whack, but did not have the time or knowledge where to look for the big picture. I will throw this open for your responses.

FireGuy

Rest in peace Amigo!
Aug 21, 2002
www.polaris-fs.com
So you are looking for, amongst other things, anecdotal information such as the twelve year old Haitian boy we saw earlier this year who was part of a road crew in Santiago and was carrying buckets of rocks to the rest of the crew while wearing shorts and no shoes - right?

Gregg

Mooseman

Oct 28, 2007
So you are looking for, amongst other things, anecdotal information such as the twelve year old Haitian boy we saw earlier this year who was part of a road crew in Santiago and was carrying buckets of rocks to the rest of the crew while wearing shorts and no shoes - right?

Gregg