Pictures from trip to Batey 9, Barahona

Marilyn

Bronze
May 7, 2002
I am not too good with trip reports, I hope the pictures tell you everything about the condition in which these people live and the need they have for help. Batey 9 is very hard to reach and unless you go specifically there you will never find it. It's inside the sugar cane plantations and the roads are very bad. We brought them bags with essential food and hygiene items, clothes, medicine, etc., it was not much, but it was as much as we could do. Each bag contained sugar, milk, oatmeal, sardine cans, cans of Vienna sausages, spaguetti, tomato sauce, toothpaste, 2 toothbrushes, chocolate bars, 3 bottles of water, etc., we brought 55 bags and distributed it among 55 families, I wish we had had more but we raised money within our company by carrying different fund raising activities.

The population in the Barahona bateyes is 90% haitian.

There's two sets of pictures, one from Batey 9 in Barahona, and the other from Bahoruco and San Rafael, where we went after we finished with the donations, we spent the night in Barahona.

Enjoy it.

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
Marilyn forgot to post the link, but if you look up her previous posts you'll find links to her flickr site. Here's the set:

Batey 9, Barahona, Dominican Republic - a photoset on Flickr

Marilyn - congratulations on your generosity and on a job well done. It looks remarkably orderly - how was it managed? How were the recipients selected? Did you make prior arrangements with anyone in the community or did you just show up?

They are strong photos that tell a story and bring a lump to the throat, as well as helping restore a bit of faith in humanity.

Marilyn

Bronze
May 7, 2002
Marilyn forgot to post the link, but if you look up her previous posts you'll find links to her flickr site. Here's the set:

Batey 9, Barahona, Dominican Republic - a photoset on Flickr