Changing My Life---help!

SKing

Silver
Nov 22, 2007
I am moving permanently to DR next Aug (2008) with my 3 children to San Jose de las Matas. The majority of my friends here in the US are Dominican and my best friend returned there last May after trying to bring her husband here to the US legally for 4 years. When I went to visit her last Aug, I fell in love (w/ the country!). I have been there 3 times since then and each time that I return I feel worse about living here. I welcome any advice on anything, seeing as I have children. My situation is a little different because I am moving to a "pueblo" rather than anywhere near the beach. My main concern is the schooling. I want my children to be able to speak, read, and write in both languages. Should I send them to a school that teaches in spanish or in english? I need to buy a car and I will need a job (either in Sajoma or Santiago). I am a registered nurse here in the states but I definitely do not want to work as a nurse in DR d/t the pay and the stigma and the treatment. My house is already in the making, our residency applications are already sent, but I am still really nervous even though I am getting alot of help and advice from my friend and her family. I am not sure about anything except for the fact that if I stay in the US for one more year I will probably fall apart. ANY ADVICE ON ANYTHING WILL BE HELPFUL.

suarezn

Gold
Feb 3, 2002
Sorry to say this, but it sounds like you're being somewhat selfish right now. It sounds to me like you haven't really thought this out and you're going to take your kids down there without any plan as to what you'll be doing for work or what school they will be going to, etc. When you have kids you have to put your life on hold for their sake.