List of cheap things to do and places to eat in santiago

carainez

Jan 19, 2008
Hello

I will be visiting Santiago Feb. 21-25 2008. I am a student from the Commonwealth of Dominica and don't have lots of money for the expensive things. If anyone could post a list of:
  1. seafood, Dominican and Asian places to eat
  2. places to visit with small fees
  3. nightclubs
  4. place to buy leather handbag, shoes

thanks

AZB

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
if you want seafood, then be prepared to spend a bit of money because its not cheap here. Marisco center near monumento is a good place to eat, but it will cost you. The shrimps dishes in DR are basically made form frozen american precooked shrimps from a bag, the fish is from dominican republic. You can eat in ahibar (great steak with mushroom sauce). You can eat buffet in hotel gran almirante for 275 pesos, all you can eat in certain days of the week. call there to find out what day they serve what food.
late night, you can eat in carrito de marchena, they have good mondongo and sandwiches there.
Excellent sandwich place = campana on juan pablo duarte.

For free places to visit, go to monumento in late afternoon to get some air and have a nice view of santiago city. For a small fee, you can go to centro leon and spend the whole afternoon there and the cafeteria serves good sandwiches for reasonable price.

For entertainment: go to ahibar in monumento area, then head over to kartuja, if you are young, go to dolce. Note, these places are good from friday till sunday. Weekdays, santiago looks more like deserted streets of baghdad.

leather bags shoes???????????? I assume you are a women. I will leave this for women to decide where is a good place to shop. You want cheap items, go to calle del sol. Its sort of like your canal street.
have fun.
AZB

Chip

Platinum
Jul 25, 2007
Santiago
Hello