Applying for American visa

angel_monson

Feb 20, 2008
This is my first post, so please bear with me...

My girlfriend wants to apply for an American visa this year. She has already applied once, but was rejected.
What tips/suggestions can you give me that will help her with this? Marriage is out of the question for now.

She's an engineer, and she studied at one of the best colleges in the DR. She also has a good job. She lives with her parents, but she built and paid for the house. And she has a recently-acquired vehicle. Can any of these things help her?
The house is in her parents' name. Would putting the house under her name help her? Would the vehicle purchase help? How much $$$ should she save?

On my side, I'm also an engineer and I have a small business. Is there any way this could be used in our advantage?

Any help is really appreciated.

Thanks.

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
Is she trying for a visitor visa?

It comes down to this, you can have a long list of everything immigration requires but unless she can convince immigration that she will return to the DR after the visa expires she will not get one.

angel_monson

Feb 20, 2008
I'm talking about the visa needed to visit the US. I'm not sure if that's the visitor visa.

Basically, I want her to visit the US for a few days. She can visit me here instead of me having to travel to the DR all the time. But she doesn't want to stay in the US. She loves the island (and the Aguilas) too much, and after they rejected her first application (after saving almost $10k, filling out all types of applications, taking days off for this), she's not too interested in living in the US. I don't blame her. Besides, who would want to leave with all the nature, beaches, sunshine, and beer?

So how can she convince them? I told her to tell immigration that she was going for a one-week work training. She didn't do it, but would that have worked?

Are there "correct" answers to the questions they ask?