Turboprop airlines?

Sep 20, 2003
I'm not an aviation expert, but I know that there are a lot of people on this site that are, so I have a question. Is it possible that turboprop airliners could come back? I don't mean just small commuter planes, but large planes like they had in the fifties?

I read that a turboprop fighter plane costs 400$ an hour to fly and maintain, and a jet fighter costs 50,000$. Could turboprops cut fuel costs that drastically on larger commercial airliners?

STIOP

Jun 11, 2004
Hi Ogre!!

Short Answer: No..

Long Answer: Although turboprops are very reliable aircraft in terms of short takeoffs and landings and fuel economy, they are severely short on range and are much slower than their jet counterparts...... In todays world the slow part is very important, imagine a 5 to 6 hour STI-JFK flight with those loud turboprops by your side.

Here in our country you still see turboprops for airlines that fly intra-Caribbean flights that involve short range and can be operated on small(er) airstrips........ but for longer range (400nm and over) and more capacity you need the turbofan powered aircraft to do the job as of right now, in the future maybe more technologies can get something better in the skies.

On regards to fighter planes, the Tucano (our next combat aircraft) is a propeller driven aircraft that is light and easy to fly but compared to turbojet combat airplanes it doesn't have a chance to compete in more advance scenarios which involve high altitude high speed manouvering. They are very different types of airplanes.

Best regards ogre hope it helped

STIOP

Apr 26, 2002
Excellent question, Jefe

Joel,

There was an article just yesterday in the Wall Street Journal about how, to quote aviation consultant Michael Boyd, "the age of the regional jet is over." Turboprops are making a come back in the 50-90 seat range. Good news for Bombardier and ATR - the remaining manufacturers of the things.