Starting a life in the DR

TravelHippo

Mar 24, 2008
Hi everyone...

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a vacation in the Dominican Republic, where yes, we did spend a lot of time relaxing and enjoying the beach, but also spend a great deal of time visiting the countryside and mingling with the locals. And in that time, we absolutely fell in love with the country, its people and its culture.

I have spent a great deal of time travelling and volunteering throughout Central America, The Caribbean and South America and had already fallen in love with the Latin American way of life myself, but for my boyfriend, this was his first visit. Although he had enjoyed stories and tales of my past adventures, it took seeing it for himself to know that this is somewhere we'd like to be.

My boyfriend is a certified teacher in both regular ed and special ed, as well as a History major. I am a college graduate in Travel and Tourism and also have a certification in Teaching English as a Second Language. Our dream would be to open up a private school in the Dominican Republic where my boyfriend could teach as a qualified teacher and I could help out as well as teach English to those in need. What I hope to learn from some of you is, do you know of anyone who has opened a private school in DR? If so, would I be able to contact them? Any idea of what it would cost? What schools charge? Any other information on opening a school that may be useful? Also, just to add, I do speak Spanish, but my boyfriend does not at this time but is certainly willing to learn, from now until the move and continue to learn upon arrival.