Boogie boarding??

rantam

Mar 29, 2008
We will be at the Iberostar Dominicana the end of April and would like to go boogie boarding, we did do a little at the resort last August but there was not much for waves. Any ideas about where to do it and how to get there? I have read about some better area's but am not quite sure how doable it would be considering the locations and time it would take along with the expense. Thanks for any help!

Sponge_Rider

Mar 27, 2008
Playa grande is a bit of a trek from The Iberostar Dominicana.. On our first trip to the DR, I was pleased to see that they had "boogie boards" available. "Okay- there's waves!" I've been bodyboarding for over 20 years and was looking forward to it.. well, the boards they had weren't exactly top quality, the waves were less than barely ridable, AND they wouldn't let me paddle out to the reef to get any there. (I brought my own fins for my feet). Since then, I researched on what hotels are closest to actual waves, pack my own board to avoid the "one-hour" limit, and stayed at Secrets, The RIU Merengue in Puerto Plata (sliced my legs on the reef out in front of the gazebo, but it was fun), And this time we're heading to Sirenis Tropical- close to Playa Macao and Secrets- each of which have real waves that are unencumbered by the barrier reef or the reef is very close to shore (Secrets). But you might be able to get a taxi from the ID to Playa Macao- maybe 10-15 minute ride, and have the driver wait for a cupla hours since you may not find one for the return. Arrange to pay half up front and the rest when you get back. But a nice tip for his time is advisable. This is fine if you bring your own boards, since they probably won't be available at Macao and the resort probably won't let you take them! Some of the excursions will end up there for a bit, and they have boogie boards to frolic with as well.

Sponge_Rider

Mar 27, 2008